Are you OK with cookies?

We use small files called ‘cookies’ on Some are essential to make the site work, some help us to understand how we can improve your experience, and some are set by third parties. You can choose to turn off the non-essential cookies. Which cookies are you happy for us to use?

Skip to content

NPM Steering Group

In January 2012 the NPM established a Steering Group, to make certain decisions on behalf of the Members, work with the Secretariat on setting the strategic direction of the NPM, and advise the Chair and Head of Secretariat in their roles. In addition, the Steering Group: 

  • Authorises the NPM’s annual budget and expenditure;
  • Authorises annual work plans;
  • Assists the Secretariat in planning and delivery of joint Member activities;
  • Monitors and assesses the value of UK NPM activities;
  • Proposes and approves the panel for recruitment of staff to the Secretariat.

The current members of the Steering Group are:

  • Wendy Sinclair-Gieben, HM Chief Inspector of Prisons for Scotland and UK NPM Chair
  • Charlie Taylor, HM Chief Inspector of Prisons (England and Wales)
  • Arun Chopra, Mental Welfare Commission for Scotland
  • Elisabeth Davies, Independent Monitoring Boards (England and Wales)
  • Rachel Lindsay, Criminal Justice Inspection Northern Ireland
  • Sherry Ralph, Independent Custody Visiting Association (ICVA)
  • John Powell, Healthcare Inspectorate Wales
  • Chris Dzikiti, Care Quality Commission (CQC)

UK NPM Steering Group Terms of Reference